Johnson City Mayor Greg Deemie has fended off a challenge from two village trustees for the Republican nomination has he seeks reelection.

Johnson City mayor Greg Deemie during a March 2017 radio interview. (Photo: Bob Joseph/WNBF News)

In Tuesday's primary election, Deemie received 255 votes. Richard Balles received 237 votes and Martin Meaney received 172 votes.

Deemie is seeking another four-year term as Johnson City mayor. He has served as mayor since April 2012 after the post was vacated with the resignation of Dennis Hannon. Deemie won the mayoral election in 2013.

In the November general election, Deemie will face Democrat Andrew Holbert, who is vice chairman of the village planning board.

Also on Tuesday, Ambrose Madden defeated Michael Husar for the Republican nomination for town justice. Madden received 116 votes and Husar received 100 votes.

In Tioga County, Owego town supervisor Donald Castellucci won the Republican nomination as he seeks a third term. Castellucci defeated Jonathan Marks 454 to 403.

Castellucci will face Democrat Cecilia Menhennett in the November general election.

For breaking news and updates on developing stories, follow @BinghamtonNow on Twitter.